Skip to content

Slate lettering – Dante inscription

15/11/2010

After paper bags a return to stone. A reason why I work in stone – it is immortal, which implies it has a soul.

This piece I made from a fragment of slate left over after removing a circle for a house number. The slate was riven (that is not smooth – retaining its natural surface) and was 280mm in diameter. The text is from Dante, the opening to The Inferno: Midway along the journey of our life, a text which has even more resonance now than it did when I made the piece, since I have hit, indeed passed, 50.

The slate was set into a piece of wood. After some years the wood deteriorated and I re-set the stone into limestone.

When I moved to Australia I gave it away. I don’t know where it is now but I still like this piece for its simplicity, not least the text.

I made one or other two pieces using the Dante theme. Time to return there I think.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

