Skip to content

What did Eric Gill sound like?

01/12/2010
tags:

Surely there is a sound recording? I would love to hear his voice. Does anyone know? And yes. I have looked on the BBC site for sound archives and nothing.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Matt permalink
    22/02/2012 4:23 am

    Stumbled across your website when looking for pictures of Pigotts which I found very interesting.
    Coincidentally I found a BBC radio documentary the other day in which he’s talks very briefly about his work; to me he sounds like a simple west countryman but then it’s not much different to the accents I remember growing up on the south coast before everyone became more estuary.
    Anyway, link below, about a minute and a half in:
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/archive/sculptors/12816.shtml

    • john pitt permalink*
      22/02/2012 8:39 am

      Thanks Matt for the link. I’ve yet to have a listen but will soon and post some comments. I am very grateful for you taking the trouble to respond and thanks again for your kind words. I certainly found my visit to Pigotts one I will never forget. Kind regards John

    • john pitt permalink*
      24/02/2012 1:28 pm

      Hi Again Matt. Having listened to the sound archive I believe the voice you describe as Gill (about 1m30s in) is actually that of Joseph Cribb, one of this assistants and a fellow letter-carver. Sorry to disappoint you! The elusive search for Gill’s voice continues. Kind regards John

  2. Matt permalink
    24/02/2012 5:58 pm

    Really? Well, I’m kind of glad as the voice didn’t seem to suit the idea I’d had in my head. Sorry for the wild goose chase, hope you found it as interesting as I did though.

Leave a Reply

