Skip to content

WikiLeaks and freedom of expression

03/12/2010
tags:

Ok, this has nothing at all to do with lettering. But in a time when so called democracies shut down an internet site because they cannot think of anything else to do; when so called democracies seek to trump up charges against an individual because they run frightened; then it is time for all of us to shout ENOUGH. I had heard that the WikiLeaks domain name had been ‘withdrawn’ by its Californian host because of so-called ‘cyber attacks’. Attacks presumably driven by US intelligence. When it was suggested a CH address had been opened I went there to be told by Safari that

Safari Icon

Safari can’t open the page.

Safari can’t open the page “http://213.251.145.96/” because the server where this page is located isn’t responding. [but see below – updated 4/12/2010]

F*** me. What is going on! Perhaps the US intelligence, run by President Barrack Obama, a Noble Peace Prize winner, can explain that. Perhaps they will shut me down for being such a rebel….

And when you read such tripe from the right-wing UK press such as this

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1334899/Scotland-Yard-arrest-wanted-WikiLeaks-boss-today.html?ITO=1490

ones heart sinks. But remember the Daily Mail is about as Fascist as you can get in Britain without actually being charged for Treason. As a journalist I find myself disgusted at how naive other journalists can be. But I have to remember that they sold their souls long ago.

We have entered, almost unknowingly, a new paradigm. Hello world without frontiers – this is democracy folks. Get used to it…

SATURDAY, DECEMBER 4th – WikiLeaks site now available again at

http://213.251.145.96/

Note – The image is the rear of a headstone I carved: the sentiments are appropriate.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 04/12/2010 6:40 am

    THANK YOU! I’m tired of people endlessly pondering whether Wikileaks should be shut down or not, whether it’s dangerous, legit, or whatever. Here in France the politicians coined a splendid oxymoron, calling Assange’s initiative “transparency totalitarianism”, which is complete nonsense and drives me mad every time I hear it (quite often actually, as the media are relaying the phrase with an obvious delight).
    So, once again, thank you for stating your opinion clearly and firmly.

    (Completely unrelated: What a great blog you have! I was very happy to find a blog on stone carving. I spent one week learning the basics of stone carving last summer and I loved it. It really renewed the way I see, feel and think letters. So please keep on posting on the subject, it’s fascinating!)

  2. 06/12/2010 1:17 am

    Nothing to do with WikiLeaks. I have only focussed on the lettering elements of your wonderful blog. I have, so far, passed links on to my Fb pages, where I am sure I first saw your 3D letters, and will also make mention in my next posting. I have subscribed to your feed and look forward to seeing more.
    More power to your elbow.
    Cheers. Bill

Leave a Reply

