Skip to content

Beck, H.C

27/09/2011

Henry Beck and the London Underground map. Enough said. Yesterday I was writing about Studio Vista books, and after writing that post I pulled out another of their issue, Graphics Handbook by Ken Garland, published in 1966. It’s a long time since I had looked inside so I was pleased to find this photo of Beck opposite the title page. It’s undated but from the look of Beck was probably taken towards the end of his life (he died in 1974 – not really that long ago: I was already in my late teens). I wonder what he is thinking. He doesn’t look that pleased to be photographed – probably happier doing a spot of gardening or weeding (an assumption – I know nothing of the man) rather than being asked to pose. Yet as the caption states “we are all in debt for this pioneering (and much emulated) work in the field of graphic design”. [Note – the photo I find from a quick search on Google is 1965 and copyright Garland.]

One Comment leave one →
  1. My Process Diary permalink
    02/10/2011 8:33 pm

    That font hurts my eyes…

Leave a Reply

