Skip to content

Mr William Caslon is digitised

26/02/2012

“Caslon,” says Colin Banks, in this 1998 article published in u&lc, “does have a sort of enduring English charm, and we think of it here as our very own.”

Interesting then that it was much used in the US in the 18th century and was the typeface of choice for the Declaration of Independence.

The u&lc piece featured a re-cutting of the type by Justin Howes.

(If anyone recognises the face of the individual on the front and rear cover I’d appreciate a mail.)

[For blog on the merit of Baskerville versus Caslon click here.]

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Amy permalink
    26/02/2012 9:17 pm

    Your blog is very authentic. Hope you keep going with it.

    • john pitt permalink*
      27/02/2012 9:15 am

      Thanks Amy. Always nice to receive a compliment. I’ll do my best to keep it going. J

  2. Jesse permalink
    27/02/2012 2:06 pm

    From this distance, it appears that the man in the blue suit is an updated likeness of William Caslon himself, dressed age-appropriately to reflect the typographic needs of the modern man of business. “Digital Type Revivals and YOU.”

    I’ll echo Amy’s sentiments, very refreshing. My only complaint is a selfish one: I wish your posts were longer, just because our typographic enthusiasms seem in constant alignment. Thank you for all the good work.

    • john pitt permalink*
      27/02/2012 3:09 pm

      Thanks Jesse. I think you are spot on about the image. I didn’t look closely enough. Some posts are long, some brief, depending on my mood and how much time I can devote. If there’s a particular subject you’re interested in do let me know – always happy to oblige. John

Leave a Reply

