Skip to content

Memorial lettering

04/01/2015

A tradition of fine hand-cut memorials exists in the UK. I was once a small part of that heritage, being commissioned to create bespoke headstones and other memorials for clients. Over the last week as part of a effort to simplify my ever growing lettering collection and archives I came across these images of mine, all made in England and pre-dating 2004 which was when we moved to Australia. I would often use both sides of the stone with the client providing a piece of prose or poetry appropriate to the person being memorialised which I’d carve on the reverse. These three examples show this, the first and third in green slate, the middle one in Welsh black:

Screen Shot 2015-01-04 at 6.34.44 PM Screen Shot 2015-01-04 at 6.35.11 PM Screen Shot 2015-01-04 at 6.35.26 PM

 

I also made this piece for the courtyard of a church in Essex, England. It is limestone and slate.

Screen Shot 2015-01-04 at 6.34.58 PM

Alas, there is, as far as I can discern, such a tradition in this part of the world. Maybe I should start one…

Also see this post on Percy Smith. Also see my page on sculptural items.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

